Image-empty-state.png

Photography by Ari Espay

Jorge Corte Sanchez

My name is Jorge Corte Sánchez. I was born on July 29, 1997 in a town called Zacatelco, Tlaxcala, in Mexico. At the age of 18 I began my higher level studies at the Universidad Iberoamericana Puebla (UIAP) in the Bachelor of Accounting and Financial Strategies program.


During my time in academia I had the opportunity to travel abroad for the first time. The country I visited was The Republic of Ireland to study a short course in English. It was there that I discovered that interacting with people of other nationalities and learning from other cultures strengthens our identity as individuals belonging to a single society and allows us to erase the barriers that we create from the idea of a territory or a superior race. On this trip I also discovered my taste to explore other lands and learn other languages, not only for work purposes, but to be able to interact and communicate with native people.


During my time at the university, I:


 Became part of the school Volleyball team.


  • I served as technical councilor for the degree in Accounting and Financial Strategies.

  • Completed an entrepreneurship program taught by Berkeley California College.

  •  Part of my university life I worked in the following places:

  • 2019 August, Project Administration Assistant, Fundación JUCONI Puebla. Private 7 A Sur 4111, Gabriel Pastor 2da Secc, 72420 Puebla, Pue.

  • 2019 March, Payroll Assistant, CATSA Puebla. Km. 9, Carr. Federal Puebla - Atlixco 8703, Colonia, 72810 Tlaxcalancingo, Pue.

  • May 2018, Audit Assistant, HO Accounting. 3503 PRIV, Calle 2-A Sur, Carmen Huexotitla, 72534 Puebla, Pue.


In November 2019 I finished my university studies, however, I was not completely sure what meaning I wanted to give to my life. On the one hand, there was my academic training that guided me towards the world of work and on the other hand there was my interest in knowing other parts of the world and exploring and developing my creative skills. It was for this reason that in December 2019 I decided to start my journey to explore the world and at the same time understand myself as a person and as part of the society that I exist within. My initial plan had 4 destinations, with New York City as the first stop. However, the pandemic caused by Covid-19 caused my plans to be postponed until today.


My greatest passions are literature, writing and photography. I enjoy reading in my free time. Harry Potter, The Odyssey and The Picture of Dorian Gray are my favorite literary compositions. I have taken writing as a therapeutic activity where I can capture my feelings and sometimes I use it to describe actions and moments that seem relevant to me or that simply generate a thought for me. Photography is my favorite hobby, at the moment I only have basic knowledge but it is an area in which I would like to explore further and specialize.


I think that this year we have learned a lot about our position and contribution in society. The pandemic has shown us that we do not all live the same reality. While some people can interrupt their daily routines, there are others who cannot afford it. However, We have been able to see that with small actions we can make a huge change for ourselves and others, I have been able to learn that taking care of myself means also taking care of my community and vice versa. Covid-19 has affected both economic and social dynamics, something such as showing our faces has become high risk and at a certain point it steals our identity. We no longer see faces in the streets, they are only eyes that observe us and with which we observe. 


This will continue in the coming months and possibly in the coming years and this is one of the most significant changes that I can identify. In addition, the changing of traditional behavior of companies and the demographics within large cities has shown us that it is possible to work from home, transporting businesses to a digital environment and living in a large city will not be seen in the same way it was seen a few months ago.


In 10 years I see myself as a professional in the design area and an expert in financial strategies, capable of achieving a combination between my passions and my academic areas and in this way managing my own business which aims to help economically and socially develop my city of origin. And in this way to enforce the motto of my alma mater "not to be the best in the world, but the best for the world."

1/5